Student welfare or school‑based pastoral care refers to the total care of the individual. Pastoral care is an important aspect of Oakhill College. At Oakhill College pastoral care practices are based on Catholic values and a belief in the uniqueness of each individual.

Our Pastoral Care Program

Pastoral Care in the College operates within a six House system. On entry to the

College, all students are allocated to a House. Years 7, 8 and 9 students are grouped in horizontal pastoral care groups and Year 10, 11 and 12 are grouped in vertical pastoral care groups. There are 12 Tutor groups (two for each House) in Years 7, 8 and 9 and ten Tutor groups in Years 10, 11 and 12. Each of these Year groups have the same Dean, Assistant Dean and Tutor teacher for the three years.

In this system, the Year Deans and Assistant Year Deans (Years 7-9), House Deans (Years 10‑12) and Tutor teachers are primarily responsible for the care and attendance of the students. In addition, there is a Head of Senior School and three Counsellors, two full-time and one part‑time.

Our Pastoral Care Program is reviewed regularly to ensure it meets the needs of our students. All students at Oakhill College participate in a range of activities during their time at the College. 

There are three main ways the College ensures every student is well known:

  • An age-appropriate Pastoral Care Program
  • Regular Tutor conversations with their Tutor teacher
  • Cohort meetings
Student Contribution & Achievements

Recognition of student achievement, contribution and excellence is the most effective approach to pastoral care. Affirmation of good conduct helps to develop self-esteem, well-being and self-efficacy, while nurturing a sense of belonging.

The following are offered at Oakhill College:

  • Teacher merits
  • Public recognition: in House Meetings, Tutor Groups, Assemblies etc
  • Oakhill Cup House Competition
  • Level Awards (further information is available in the College diary)
  • Principal’s Morning Tea for outstanding service to the College (held once a semester)
Leadership Formation

As soon as students commence at Oakhill College, they are provided with decision-making and leadership opportunities. Some of the opportunities offered to our students are:

  • Student Representative Council
  • Class Captains
  • Cohort Leaders
  • College and House Captains
  • Lasallian Youth Leader
  • Sporting Leadership opportunities.

College Houses

Our Houses are named after significant brothers. Each of the other Houses commemorates De La Salle Brothers who have contributed to our rich history and tradition.

Named after Saint Brother

Benildus Romancon (1805 - 1862) France

Feast Day 13 August

Named after the founder of the De La Salle Brothers

(1651 – 1719)

Feast Day: 15th May

Named after Saint Miguel Febres Cordero

Ecuador (1854 – 1910)

Feast Day: 9th February

Named after Saint Mutien-Marie Wiaux

Belgium (1841 – 1917)

Feast Day: 30th January

Named after Blessed Brother Solomon LeClerca

France (1745 – 1792)

Feast Day: 2nd September

Named after Eight Brothers

Martyred 9th October 1934 Turon, Spain

Feast Day: 9th October

Book a Tour

Visit Us

Virtual Tour

View Facilities

Get in Touch

Contact us

Submit an Expression of Interest Form