Oakhill College Science and the Big Science Competition

Oakhill College Science and the Big Science Competition
September 11, 2017 Oakhill Web Admin

Oakhill College has achieved impressive results in the Big Science Competition. The competition is a good way for students in Years 7 to 10 to be involved in extension activities at lunch time and after school and to track their performance against State or National averages.  The competition consists of a 50 minute, 30 multiple choice examination testing critical thinking and problem solving skills, not just factual recall. Questions are set in real-life, contemporary contexts, making them relatable and interesting. This is an initiative of ‘Australian Science Innovations’. The following boys are congratulated for their achievement.


High Distinction (Top 1%)                   Alex Nielson, James Houseman, Thomas Lovell

Distinction (Top 5%)                            Aaron Ferreira, Adam Byrnes, Aiden Irving, Dale Higginbottom, Fahed Tleyji, Fintan Riordan, Jack Wolfe, Jackson Dunk, Karl Gibian, Luke Hyde

Credit (Top 10%)                                  Finn Eddington, Jamie Marshall, Maximillian Prociv, Maximus Brisot

Participation                                         Adam Caisley, Andrew Roseby, Bailey Strachan, Hamish Matheson, James Cassab, Jye McLachlan, Luke Giglio, Marshall Bullis, Mitchell Ashton-Standring, Oliver Drazenovic, Samuel Pickard, William Edwards, William Elliott


Congratulations to the boys, Ms Theresa Towner, Mr Saxon Bowles, Mr Luke Richards and the Oakhill Science Department