Lasallian Mission & Principles

Miguel House Lasallian Star

The Mission of Oakhill College is founded in the Mission of the Institute of the De La Salle Brothers and is most clearly realised in the five core Lasallian Principles which guide every aspect of education at the College.

The Mission of the Institute of the De La Salle Brothers

The purpose of the Institute is to provide a human and Christian education to the young, especially the poor (Rule of the Brothers)

Lasallian Principles

Faith in the Presence of God

Oakhill College nurtures belief in the living presence of God in our world, viewing it with the ‘eyes of faith’.

Quality Education

Oakhill College provides an education that focuses on excellence, and where students attain their potential and are prepared for life. This education advances students’ abilities to use their talents to critically examine the world in light of the message of the Gospels and to take greater responsibility for their own education.

Respect for all Persons

Oakhill College engages in a concerted effort to respect the inherent dignity, worth and gifts of each person.

Inclusive Community

Oakhill College is a united community where diversity is respected, where no one is left out, and where everyone is accepted so each person can grow.

Concern for the Poor and Social Justice

Oakhill College calls its members to an awareness of the poor and victims of injustice in our own community and elsewhere and responds to their needs through programs of community service, advocacy, and justice education.

Our Founder – John Baptist De La Salle

The extraordinary story of the Brothers began with the founder John Baptist de La Salle. Born into a life of privilege in Rheims, France, in 1651, the life of this young priest took a series of unexpected turns when he began helping a local teacher run a charity school for the poor. He gathered a group of young men to help him provide poor children with a Christian education. He renounced his title and considerable wealth and moved in with these men, to form the community that became known as the Brothers of the Christian Schools. These schoolmasters came to be known as Brothers because they were ‘brotherly’ not only to each other but also older ‘brothers’ to the students whom they taught.

De La Salle’s ‘Christian schools’ were free and open to all, especially the poor. The school’s atmosphere of firmness and kindness instilled a sense of purpose into the lives of young people used to roaming the streets. De La Salle emphasised discipline and order, civility, civics and citizenship in the Lasallian schools both for employment in early industrial France but also for salvation.

De La Salle and his Brothers succeeded in creating a network of quality schools throughout France. In addition, De La Salle developed programs for training lay teachers, Sunday courses for working young men, and one of the first institutions in France for the care of troubled youths. He died on Good Friday at Saint Yon near Rouen on April 7, 1719, only weeks before his sixty-eighth birthday. At the time of his death, there were 100 Brothers in 22 schools, teaching 5,000 students throughout France.

Today globally there are over 5,000 Brothers and thousands of Partners in 81 countries in a diverse range of roles. They minister to more than 900,000 young people.
Source: www.delasalle.org.au


La Salle District of Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan and Papua New Guinea

Oakhill College was established by the De La Salle Brothers in 1936.  Oakhill is in the District of the De La Salle Brothers in Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan and Papua New Guinea (ANZPPNG) and forms part of the Pacific Asia Regional Council (PARC) along with the Districts of East Asia, Sri Lanka, India and Vietnam. The International Institute of the De La Salle Brothers (also known as the Brothers of the Christian Schools) is administered by a Superior General and his Central Council in Rome. Countries are formed into administrative Districts and Districts are clustered into Regions.

The De La Salle Brothers have a great history and reputation for quality education in Australia and the Asia Pacific Region. The De La Salle Brother’s first school in Australia was De La Salle College Armidale, NSW, established in 1906. Today there are 18 schools across Australia and over 26 schools, Teacher Training College’s, and various welfare initiatives such as Yourtown and Kids Helpline, in the District of ANZPPNG.

The Lasallian Mission Council is now the incorporated entity that is responsible for conducting and sustaining the District’s mission.

The Head of the District is called the Provincial or Brother Visitor. The present Provincial is Br David Hawke fsc